Create in me a clean heart.

Sin just makes me so sad sometimes – it should probably make me sad/mad all the time, but let’s be honest, I’m quite comfortable in my own.
I heard of someone’s deep struggle today, and it was with something exactly the same that I had struggled years and years against. It’s only by the grace of God that I am set free from those chains. So tonight my heart is so heavy for this person, who I’m sure deals with the guilt and shame every day, and who most likely wants to have control in this area of their life…but they just keep getting sucked under.
I know those feelings. I know the loathing you can have for yourself and the feeling like you’re drowning, and no matter how many times you try to suck in air, only water comes rushing into your lungs.

Oh God, I lift up my hands for this sibling in Christ. Help them run away from the mire their feet seem to be stuck in. Help them to reach that key to unlock these chains. And more than everything, give this person the desire for change and the ability to forgive themselves. The ability for those surrounding this person to forgive them for the pain this causes in their lives.

God, help us to hate our own sin. To cling to you and seek you moment by moment in our lives. Help us to put off our old selves and put on the new. To renew our minds. Create in us clean hearts, oh God, and renew a right spirit within us. Cast us not away from your presence…please, continue to draw us to you with your loving kindness. You are so faithful. Help us to ever praise you. In every circumstance.

Leave some lovin'

