pretzels and kindred spirits.

First, I would like to say that I’m in the mood for soft pretzels. I’m think I’m going to have to make them!  And I think the recipe from A Beautiful Mess is what is going to go down here tonight.  If you have never checked out their blog, it’s a must! They have so many good recipes on there, not to mention a lot of other amazingness.

The pretzels will be the perfect salty treat to go with the snickerdoodle ice cream that is currently spinning in our ice cream maker!

 

Second, and very far away from the topic of pretzels, don’t you just love thinking back on your close friendships throughout the years? God has strategically placed so many amazing women in my life that I am so overwhelmingly thankful for! And it surprises me a little to say that, since growing up with boys I thought girls were pretty stupid. So, even though you probably don’t know these wonderful ladies, I just wanted to take a moment to mention a few who have truly changed my heart throughout the years.

Rachel – She’s older than my mother, but when I was in high school, and shortly after my dad left my family she became a very close friend. I was planning on graduating high school early and moving to Africa with her family for a year. It never came to fruition, but I loved going over to her house after school once a week to do Bible study and just talk to her about life and how live like Jesus.

Sara – She has been in my life since I was born (I think), but we didn’t become close friends until I was in high school. She quickly became one of my best friends at that point…she was always at my house, but I’m not sure why. 😉  She still remains one of my closest friends to this day, even though we don’t communicate very often (long distance relationships are stupid).  She, too, is a newer mommy, and has been for over a year now, so maybe not that new. But she and her hubs just welcomed a precious little girl into their home. They are great parents!

Kim – She was my mentor in college, although she hates it when I call her that. “We’re just friends, Teresa!” -she’d say. When we first met I was in a very unhealthy relationship and she helped to see the truth in that and break it off. For the last couple years of my college life she helped me learn how to dig deep and sift through a lot of junk. I will always hold dear the truths that she spoke into my life. And probably one of the best gems is, “If you continue to believe/think this way, what will your life look like in 5 years?”

Holly – She was my big sister in college. My mama adopted her into our family and because of it I’ll never be the same. After I graduated from college I couldn’t find a job and Holly, who was living with her family in Alaska, told me that I should just try Alaska for a year. I told her if I could find a job, then I would. Within the week I had found a job on Craiglist in a coffee shack and sold enough bookmarks to pay for my one way ticket, so off to Alaska I went! Then the tables were turned, Holly’s family, who I already adored, took me in as their own and treated me as their sixth child. (So I should also add Holly’s mama to the list, Suzanne. She is such a good role model!) I will always remember that year of my life as one of my favorites. I dream of it often.

There are so many other women who have inspired and influenced me, but my fingers are swollen and falling asleep and won’t let me type.

I can only hope and pray that I have been and can be such a positive influence in another sister’s life as these women have been in mine.

Leave some lovin'

