Aside
0
Photo taken by HRLuiken

Photo taken by HRLuiken

I said in my fitness post how you have to wake up every day and choose if you’re going to live healthily or not. Well, it’s the same thinking for all important things in life.

When I wake up today am I going to show Flint that I love him and take extra time to snuggle him when I could be doing the laundry or running to the gym (or catching up on some MUCH NEEDED sleep)? Am I going to take the time to tell Ty that I’m so thankful he’s in my life and think of specific ways to love on him or am I going to be selfish and zone out because Sabrina the Teenage Witch is on when he’s telling me about his day?

But most of all, am I going to spend some time focusing my thoughts on truth and scripture and how I can glorify God in this day?

It’s so much easier to just forget about spending quality time with our creator, and to busy ourselves with other things. I’ve found for myself that when the Holy Spirit prompts me to open my Bible or sit and pray, I have to do it right at that moment. Most times I think I’ll do it as soon as I finish such and such, then I’ll have more time to focus on Him. But I should know better, my brain is like a wide-holed sieve and nothing stays in there very long, as soon as that “such and such” is completed, I’ve completely forgotten about the prompting on my heart.

I want to be genuine and sincere and full of passion for my God, but the more time I spend focusing on myself instead of him, the more self-centered and arrogant I become. He’s my compass, but so many times I forget that I even need directions.

This scripture has been on my mind today. It’s definitely been on Ty’s and my mind lately with things going on at our place of worship. But we can’t be focused on other people, we need to make sure our hearts are right, so that our hearts will be a sweet fragrance to God.

Isaiah 1:13-17

“Quit your worship charades.
I can’t stand your trivial religious games:
Monthly conferences, weekly Sabbaths, special meetings—
meetings, meetings, meetings—I can’t stand one more!
Meetings for this, meetings for that. I hate them!
You’ve worn me out!
I’m sick of your religion, religion, religion,
while you go right on sinning.
When you put on your next prayer-performance,
I’ll be looking the other way.
No matter how long or loud or often you pray,
I’ll not be listening.
And do you know why? Because you’ve been tearing
people to pieces, and your hands are bloody.
Go home and wash up.
Clean up your act.
Sweep your lives clean of your evildoings
so I don’t have to look at them any longer.
Say no to wrong.
Learn to do good.
Work for justice.
Help the down-and-out.
Stand up for the homeless.
Go to bat for the defenseless.”

-The Message

Leave some lovin'

