Progress Report

Okay, so I haven’t completely gotten my mojo back since we’ve moved, but it’s slowly coming. A dear friend offered to work out with me in the mornings, and sadly I have only done that twice so far. Granted, Flint has hit a growth spurt and his next wonder week, so I’ll just blame it on that.

Ok, no, let’s be honest. I’m just really lame. When I go to bed I say to myself, “Remember when you used to get up at 5 every day and it was no big deal and you actually loved it, because it felt like you had the whole day in front of you? You can do it again!” But when the alarm goes off I just scowl at it and roll over. This weekend we’ll be continuing Flint’s sleep training. He sleeps 7-9 hours every night, but he’s now at the point where he can go longer, so we’re gonna stretch for 10-11. Hopefully once this becomes consistent for him I will be more eager to wake up early instead of thinking, “Seriously? I was just awake and hour or 2 ago to feed Flint!”  I know I’ll get there, it will just take a little time. “Baby steps” as What About Bob’s psychiatrist would say.

But, on a positive note, although I haven’t been able to get up early as hoped, I have been able to work out every day and I have stopped eating Ty’s ice cream. 🙂  As a result I have been losing an average of 1-2 pounds a week. I have never lost weight this fast, I don’t really know what’s going on. It’s a good conundrum to have, but it completely baffles me. Before Flintster, I had to work at twice as hard as anyone else to even see small progress, and now I’m not even fully into the swing of things, but it’s melting off. I’m trying to keep up the weight lifting, so that what I’m losing is not my muscle. I need that stuff! I don’t know how long this is going to continue (I know not for long, since the more I lose the harder it will become to lose), I know I’m going to plateau at some point, but right now I’m just going to enjoy and take advantage of it.

You may be wondering how my training for the 5K is coming…I have to admit, it’s not really. I guess in a sense there is progress towards it because I am remaining active, but I hate running. Somehow during pregnancy I forgot that and deluded myself into thinking that running four times a week was going to be totally baller.  It’s not. I do still have that far off goal in my mind to be able to run 5 miles and it not be that difficult, but I think it’s going to take me a lot longer.  I have to be honest with myself, I hate running and I love weights. High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) is so much better than just straight running, and frankly it’s better for my overall weight loss goal and maintaining muscle. But I will persevere! I thrive so much on competition when it comes to working out, so when I go for a run (I can walk faster than my run, by the way) I want to totally kill it. But then I burn myself out really quickly.  So my new running goal is to forget speed and just concentrate on moving and breathing. Even though I’m not too thrilled about it anymore I am still (kind of) determined to run that 5K! …or at least run parts of it. 🙂

Leave some lovin'

