life of a sahm

Before I entered the full-time mom profession, I had no idea what a sahm was. Well, now I know it’s just an acronym for Stay At Home Mom, and that’s what I am!

Before actually becoming a sahm, I had dreamt about it, but honestly, I secretly thought I would be eternally bored.  I knew that it would be hard work and as he starts to move about get even harder, but I thought that I would be bored to tears at times.  Now it’s been over three months and I can report that there has been no boredom.  I do miss working full-time, mainly because work was my social life, I miss organizing files (believe it or not) I miss having great bosses, I miss talking with students…but I wouldn’t trade this blessing for anything!

As Flint and I were riding our bike up to visit daddy yesterday I couldn’t help but think about all this.  About what my life would be like if I had to stay at work while someone else took care of Flint.  My heart cringed at the thought. Now that I’ve actually experienced spending every moment with my son, I wouldn’t want it any other way. I know that it’s possible for a day to come when I would need to work to help support our family, but thankfully I don’t right now.  I know that it would be impossible for some families to survive if the mama wasn’t working outside the home, and some women may just be wired differently than me and really would be bored to tears and tear their hair out at the idea of your only conversations consisting of “Ooooh! That was a big tootsie!”  But I love it!  I love to watch him learn new things and smile at me so big when I wake him up from a nap. To see him concentrate on my face and try to make his little hands grab my cheeks. To hear him giggle at the ceiling vent like there will be no other love in his life. To pray over him before I put him down to naps and whisper to him that God loves him more than daddy or I ever could.

Even though it is hard to not have many people to talk to, I love that I currently have abundant quiet time when I can ponder, “For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence for my hope is from him”

I love my little monkey and I can’t wait to see what new thing he’ll learn tomorrow.  He is my little blessing.

Psalm 127

If God doesn’t build the house,
the builders only build shacks.
If God doesn’t guard the city,
the night watchman might as well nap.
It’s useless to rise early and go to bed late,
and work your worried fingers to the bone.
Don’t you know he enjoys
giving rest to those he loves?
Don’t you see that children are God’s best gift?
the fruit of the womb his generous legacy?
Like a warrior’s fistful of arrows
are the children of a vigorous youth.
Oh, how blessed are you parents,
with your quivers full of children!
Your enemies don’t stand a chance against you;
you’ll sweep them right off your doorstep.

Leave some lovin'

